Welcome to Update:Hawaii

Feed The Hunger Foundation Benefit “Re-Imagining Hawaii” on Dec. 6

Feed The Hunger Foundation (FTHF) has scheduled its second annual benefit dinner on Thursday, December 6, 2012 at the Hilton Hawaiian Village’s Coral Ballroom. The organization that has more than $1 million to award in micro-loans to Hawaii food-related organizations, invites the public to support its mission by attending a delicious dinner prepared by the Hilton’s Executive Chef Jeffrey Vigella, Town’s Chef Ed Kenney and taro expert Daniel Anthony.


Tickets start at $200 a person and tables of 10 are available starting at $2,500. For information and to reserve seats, visit www.feed-hunger.com or contact Denise Albano at denisealbano@feed-hunger.com.


Re-Imagining Hawaii: Creating Our Food, Investing in Our People, Strengthening Our Communities will be held from 5:30 to 9 p.m. Guests will be entertained by Marlene Sai, Michael Pili Pang and Halau Hula Ka No’eau.


Feed The Hunger Foundation is committed to helping low-income entrepreneurs and small businesses in the food system who want to make local, healthy food accessible to all. From small agricultural farmers, to aquaponic farmers, to farmer’s market managers, to caterers, to lunch wagon operators, to restaurant owners, FTHF provides small loans and food networks that support the success of local businesses. The loans allow an individual the opportunity to provide for their families, impact their communities and alter the direction of food security for our islands.


FTHF loan awardees in Hawaii have included farmers at the Kunia Ag Park, a couple who is using the loan to open up a small cafe using local ingredients, a loan for tuition so an individual can become a commercially licensed driver, a business start up to serve ethnic foods, and an organic juice business using only local fruits and vegetables.

Financial support has also been provided to the GreenWheel Food Hub and Naked Cow Dairy.


Honorary Co-Chairs, First Lady Nancie Caraway and former First Lady Vicky Cayetano, head up the Vice Chairs of Dr. Amy Agbayani, Gae Bergquist Trommald, Dr. Rockne Freitas, William Kaneko, Councilmember Ann Kobayashi, Sharon McPhee, Leigh-Ann Miyasato, Mark Murakami, Dean Okimoto, Shanaugh Robbins, Pris Texeira and Dr. Myaing Thein.


For more information, visit www.feed-hunger.com.



Leave a Response